Society for Consumer Psychology

JCP Announces New Editors for 2024

The Society for Consumer Psychology is pleased to announce the selection of David Wooten as Editor in Chief for the Journal of Consumer Psychology. His three-year term formally begins on January 1, 2024. Dr. Wooten succeeds Dr. Lauren Block, and will work with Co-Editors Rajesh Bagchi and Aparna Labroo. Their leadership brings about another chapter of excellence for JCP. We invite you to learn more about each of the appointees below.

David Wooten, Editor In Chief

David Wooten is the Alfred L. Edwards Collegiate Professor and a University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan. His research addresses a wide range of topics, but focuses on self-presentation, social influences, racial identity, and interaction rituals. His work has appeared in the Journal of Consumer Psychology, Journal of Consumer Research, Consumer Psychology Review, Journal of the Association for Consumer Research, Journal of Public Policy and Marketing, Marketing Letters, as well as other scholarly outlets. 

His work on ridicule as a mechanism for consumer socialization was a finalist for the JCR best paper award in 2009 and his research on knowledge signaling in word of mouth communications (with Grant Packard) won the best competitive paper award at the 2011 SCP Conference. He has served as an associate editor for the Journal of Consumer Psychology, an editorial review board member for the Journal of Consumer Research and the Journal of Sport Management, and a member of the scientific advisory committee for Consumer Psychology Review. He is a 2022 recipient of the Taylor & Francis/Routledge SMA Distinguished Scholar Award, and a 2022 inductee in the PhD Project Hall of Fame, and a 2015 recipient of AMA’s Williams-Qualls-Spratlen Multicultural Mentoring Award.

Rajesh Bagchi, Co-Editor

Rajesh Bagchi is the R.B. Pamplin Professor of Marketing and Department Head at the Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech. Rajesh studies how consumers can be nudged into making better decisions for themselves and for societal well-being. His research lies at the intersection of several fields, including marketing, psychology, and economics. Rajesh’s research encompasses the entire gamut of consumer decision-making—from information processing, to making a purchase, to post-purchase evaluations.

Rajesh’s research has been published in several of Marketing’s and Psychology’s top journals. Rajesh serves as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Consumer Psychology and has served as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Consumer Research. Rajesh serves on the Editorial Review Board of several other journals. Rajesh is the recipient of several prestigious awards, including the Society for Consumer Psychology’s Early Career Award in 2015, and was named as a Marketing Science Institute Young Scholar in 2013 and Scholar in 2021. Rajesh teaches Marketing Analytics, Marketing Research, and Judgment and Decision-making.

Aparna Labroo, Co-Editor

Aparna Labroo is a Consumer Psychologist and Professor of Marketing at Northwestern University. She researches a wide range of topics in judgment and decision-making, including the role emotions play in consumer choices, self-control, pro-social action, and creativity. Her research has appeared in the Journal of Consumer Psychology, the Journal of Consumer Research, the Journal of Marketing Research, the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Consumer Psychology Review, and Psychological Science, among others. It has also featured in New York Times, Time, MSN, Forbes, Financial Times, Business Week, Scientific American, and other leading media outlets.

She currently serves as Editor at Marketing Letters and on the editorial/advisory boards of several journals. She previously served as Guest Editor on a Special Issue of the Journal of Consumer Psychology on Greater Good, as Guest Editor on a Special Issue of the Journal of Association for Consumer Research on Longitudinal Effects, and as Associate Editor at Perspectives on Psychological Science (PPS), the Journal of Consumer Research, and the Journal of Consumer Psychology. Aparna is recipient of the Society for Consumer Psychology Early Career Award. She has an MBA from the Indian Institute of Management (Ahmedabad) and her PhD is from Cornell.

The official journal of the Society for Consumer Psychology, the Journal of Consumer Psychology publishes articles that contribute both theoretically and empirically to an understanding of consumer judgment and behavior and the processes that underlie them. It is focused on consumer phenomena at both the intrapersonal and the interpersonal level.

The new editorial team was selected through an open nomination process. Nominations were solicited from the larger academic community with final consideration and selection by the SCP Publications Committee. The Publications Committee members are Geeta Menon (Chair), Gita Johar, Brent McFerran, Anirban Mukhopadhyay, LJ Shrum, Tiffany White, and Eric Yorkston. The Committee would like to thank the outgoing co-editors, Lauren Block, Jennifer Argo, and Thomas Kramer for their outstanding service to JCP!